Hofstra University - Department of Computer Science

Professor Impagliazzo Retires After 24 Years of Service at Hofstra


Professor and former chair of the Department of Computer Science, Dr. John Impagliazzo retires on August 31 after 24 years of service at Hofstra. Over the course of his career Dr. Impagliazzo distinguished himself as a leader in computer science education and a strong advocate of computing history research.

Dr. Impagliazzo serves on the Education Board of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and plays an important role in reshaping the future of computing education. He was the principal co-author and editor of the Computer Engineering Report (CE2004), and made significant contribution to the Computing Curricula 2005 Report (CC2005). CE2004 and CC2005 are the vital undergraduate curriculum guidelines to computing programs all over the world. He has chaird the ACM accreditation committee for 12 years, served as team chair and program evaluator at ABET (formerly the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) and Computer Science Accreditation Commission (CSAC). He has led or participated in the accreditation of over 50 computing programs world wide.

Leading the efforts to advocate the research in computing history, Dr. Impagliazzo is chair of the International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP) Working Group 9.7 on the History of Computing. He is also an Associate Editor of the Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, under development by the John Wiley publishing company.

Dr. Impagliazzo is a Life Senior Member of IEEE. He is the recipient of the IEEE Computer Society Outstanding Contribution Award (2005) for his work on the Computer Engineering Report and the ACM SIGCSE Lifetime Service Award (2007) for his long history of volunteer service to computer science education.